Our website has moved. Please visit our new website at http://www.parkwayschools.net/
"This Is Parkway" Digital Magazine


Forty-two Parkway students earn National Merit Recognition

Twenty-one-Parkway students qualified as National Merit Semifinalists, and 21 earned Commended status. 
The Semifinalists are:
Central High School
Henry Cao
Jonathan A. Daniels
Anupam Devkota
Linda X. Du
Anisha N. Gururaj
Alison S.Magruder
Alexander V. Maslev
Charles Y. Qin
North High School
Benjamin A. Berson
Christopher J. Camie
Jodie L. Guller
Andrew R. Socha
South High School
Ryan P. Egan
Meghan Scanlon
Michael H. Zhao
West High School
Megan Arnell
Muriel A. Fogarty
Emily A. Itoku
Andrew C. Russell
Aditya B. Subbarao
Eileen Zhu
The Commended students are:
Central High
Joseph M. Dardick
Katelyn M. Strutz
North High
Abigail Barrow
Amelia Chen
David Goldfeld
Alexander Hagge
Graham Krueger
Timothy Noonan
Zachary Weinstock
South High
Reetom Bera
Mona Dai
Hebert Prospere
Bradley Tucker
Hima Veeramachaneni
Poornima Venigalla
West High
Kyle Bailey
James Bonner
Hope Bretscher
Carrie Hsieh
Laura Michel
Clayton Vance
About 1.5 million juniors in some 22,000 high schools entered the National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT), which served as an initial screen of program entrants. The nationwide pool of Semifinalists, which represents less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors, includes the highest-scoring entrants in each state. The number of Semifinalists in a state is proportional to the state’s percentage of the national total of graduating seniors.
These academically talented high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 8,400 National Merit Scholarships, worth more than $36 million, that will be offered next spring. To be considered for a Merit Scholarship award, Semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the Finalist level of the competition. About 90 percent of the Semifinalists are expected to attain Finalist standing, and approximately half of the Finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar title.
About the National Merit Scholarship Program
Established in 1955 to conduct the annual National Merit Scholarship Program, NMSC is a not-for-profit organization that operates without government assistance. The majority of National Merit Scholarships offered each year are underwritten by some 450 independent corporate and college sponsors that support NMSC’s efforts to honor the nation’s scholastic talent and encourage academic excellence at all levels of education.