Our website has moved. Please visit our new website at http://www.parkwayschools.net/
"This Is Parkway" Digital Magazine


National Merit Semifinalists announced

Twenty-eight Parkway students have been named National Merit Semifinalists. The students are:

Central High School
Jonathan H. Brand
Henry D. Chen
Tommy H. Du
Victor Ge
Tracy Y. Tang
Louis S. Wang
Hannah J. Wiedner
Joy L. Yang
Rebecca M. Zhang

North High School
Miranda L. Siler

South High School
Leela A. Chapman
Ruixue Cheng
Alicia N. Coronado
Katherine Y. Li
Joyce C. Lin
Edward J. Lu
Thomas A. Meisel
Christina L. Sittser
Asha R. Thanki
Mindy Xu
Satya Pavan K.Yalla

West High School
Elizabeth L. Carroll
Andrew George
Kevin F. Koboldt
Jaron X. Ma
Ann Ni
Andrew Smith
Joanne O. Yu

About 1.5 million juniors in more than 22,000 high schools entered the National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT), which served as an initial screen of program entrants. The nationwide pool of Semifinalists, representing less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors, includes the highest-scoring entrants in each state. The number of Semifinalists in a state is proportional to the state’s percentage of the national total of graduating seniors.

These academically talented high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 8,300 National Merit Scholarships, worth more than $32 million that will be offered next spring. To be considered for a Merit Scholarship award, Semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the Finalist level of the competition. About 90 percent of the Semifinalists are expected to attain Finalist standing, and approximately half of the Finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar title.