Our website has moved. Please visit our new website at http://www.parkwayschools.net/


Six Parkway students awarded National Merit Scholarships

Six Parkway School District seniors were awarded National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) scholarships.  These awards provide between $500 and $2,000 annually for up to four years of undergraduate study at the institution financing the scholarship.  The Parkway students are:

Central High School
Will N. Hack
Michigan State University
Probable career field: Law

Jonathan E. Taterka
Arizona State University
Probable career field: Education

Thomas A. Morrell
Washington University in St. Louis
Probable career field: Physics

North High School
Brad G. Donaldson
Washington University in St. Louis
Probable career field: Biochemistry/Pharmacy

Abigail L. Scribner
Kenyon College
Probable career field: Publishing

Courtney E. Gray
University of Chicago
Probable career field: Undecided

The students join more than 2,800 winners of National Merit Scholarships financed by colleges.  Officials of each sponsor college selected their scholarship winners from among Finalists in the 2009 National Merit Scholarship Program who plan to attend their institution.  This year 201 higher education institutions are underwriting Merit Scholarship awards through the National Merit Program.  Sponsor colleges and universities include 120 private and 81 public institutions located in 44 states and the District of Columbia.

The 2009 National Merit Scholarship Competition
More than 1.5 million juniors in over 22,000 high schools entered the 2009 National Merit Scholarship competition when they took the 2007 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®), which served as an initial screen of program entrants.  Last fall, some 16,000 Semifinalists were named on a state representational basis, in numbers proportional to each state’s percentage of the nation’s high school graduating seniors.  Semifinalists were the highest scoring program entrants in each state and represented less than one percent of a state’s seniors.  To compete for Merit Scholarship awards, Semifinalists had to advance to the Finalist level of the competition by submitting a substantial amount of information and by fulfilling additional requirements.  Each Finalist presented an outstanding academic record; was endorsed and recommended by a school official; earned SAT scores that confirmed the qualifying test performance; and provided an essay describing activities, interests, and goals.  More than 15,000 Semifinalists met requirements for Finalist standing, and more than half of this group will be Merit Scholarship winners in 2009.  Established in 1955 to conduct the National Merit Program, NMSC is a not-for-profit corporation that operates without government assistance.  The majority of National Merit Scholarships provided each year are made possible by the support of approximately 500 independent corporate and college sponsors.  These sponsors join NMSC in its efforts to enhance educational opportunities for America’s scholastically talented youth and to encourage the pursuit of academic excellence.