Our website has moved. Please visit our new website at http://www.parkwayschools.net/


Forty-three Parkway Students Qualify as National Merit Semifinalists

Parkway has 43 students who recently qualified as National Merit Semifinalists in the 2007 National Merit Scholarship Program. Some 16,000 students, representing less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors, have qualified as National Merit Semifinalists. These students now have an opportunity to continue in the program to further qualify for nearly 8,200 Merit Scholarship awards, worth $33 million, that will be offered next spring. Following are the Parkway semifinalists: Central High: Jennifer Cahill, Sean Gallagher, Zachary Gallagher, David Gao, Shaobo Gu, Emmeline Kuo, Anatoliy Kuznetsov, Lauren Schlosser, Jessica Scully, Eliana Turner and Ryan Wang. North High: Katherine Gaertner, Adee Heiman, Lindsay Keller, Eva Pearlstone and David Witzling. South High: Jonathan Gunasingham, Linda Holyoke, Mariam Nawas, Christopher Park, Pengcheng Wang, Margaret Williams, Jing Xue and Cissy Yang. West High: Emily Flynn, Angela Gao, Layla Hazemi, Mir Inaamullah, Katherine Kaiser, Stephen Koblin, Ram Kollipara, Haoran Li, Singer Ma, Brian Pownall, Nandan Prasad, Andrew Schneider, Christine Tiffin, Connie Tsai, Lucy Wang, Frank Xing, Sherry Yan, Tiffany Yang and Louis Zhang. The National Merit Scholarship Corporation is an independent not-for-profit organization that conducts privately financed annual competitions for recognition and college undergraduate scholarships through two programs the National Merit Scholarship Program and the National Achievement Scholarship Program. Of the 1.4 million entrants, some 50,000 high school students with the highest Preliminary SAT scores will qualify for National Merit Scholarship Program recognition. The top scorers earn National Merit Semifinalist status, followed by National Merit Commended status. In addition, African-American students compete in the National Achievement Scholarship Program, and academically outstanding students of Hispanic origin are recognized through the National Hispanic Recognition Program. For additional information, visit www.nationalmerit.org.