Our website has moved. Please visit our new website at http://www.parkwayschools.net/


NCTE Honors Six Parkway Students with Excellent Writing Talent

The National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE) has named Jennifer Cahill of Parkway Central High; Kate Gaertner of North High; Linda Holyoke and Cissy Yang of South High; and Layla Hazemi, Katherine Kaiser and Christine Tiffin of Parkway West High; as outstanding writers in the 2006 NCTE Achievement Awards in Writing. The students were among 606 high school seniors from across the United States, the District of Columbia, Canada, the Virgin Islands and American Schools Abroad to receive this award. The Achievement Awards in Writing program was established in 1957 to encourage high school students in their writing and to recognize publicly some of the best student writers in the nation. The writing excellence is based on students samples of their own best prose or verse and on impromptu themes that are written under supervision. A team of English teachers chosen from throughout the students home state judges the writing, looking especially for writing that demonstrates effective and imaginative use of language and move an audience. Winners are announced every October. Winning students and their schools receive certificates recognizing their accomplishment and the names of the students and their schools are posted on the NCTE web site. Students also receive cards highlighting their achievement to attach to their college application forms. Chief State School Officers and members of Congress are sent letters notifying them of the accomplishment of the students and schools in their states. For complete details and nomination forms for the 2007 NCTE Achievement Awards in Writing (nominations must be received by February 2, 2007), visit the NCTE web site at http://www.ncte.org/about/awards/student/aa or write to NCTE Achievement Awards in Writing, 1111 West Kenyon Road, Urbana, IL 61801-1096.