Our website has moved. Please visit our new website at http://www.parkwayschools.net/


National Merit Semifinalists announced

Twenty-four Parkway School District students have been named National Merit Semifinalists. The students are:

Central High SchoolParkway logo
Dylan J. Adams
Thomas L. Hack
Shawn Z. He
David Huang
Katherine S. Ihnat
Meagan A. McKinstry
Joshua H. Mo
Lee Remi
Carl A. Wallach
Dennis X. Zhu

North High School
Manali P. Gokhale
Adrienne M. Hunt
Timothy R. Tai

South High School
Dushyant Bhatnagar
Stefanie T. Shahan
Connie X. Shen
Heather D. Wilson
Jeffrey Zhao

West High School
Keerthi Bandi
Will S. Gant
Andrew D. Kuehnle
Kimberly L. Lister
Adam B. Manders
James Wang

About 1.5 million juniors in some 22,000 high schools entered the National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT), which served as an initial screen of program entrants. The nationwide pool of Semifinalists, which represents less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors, includes the highest-scoring entrants in each state. The number of Semifinalists in a state is proportional to the state’s percentage of the national total of graduating seniors.

These academically talented high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 8,300 National Merit Scholarships, worth more than $34 million, that will be offered next spring. To be considered for a Merit Scholarship award, Semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the Finalist level of the competition. About 90 percent of the Semifinalists are expected to attain Finalist standing, and approximately half of the Finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar title.