Our website has moved. Please visit our new website at http://www.parkwayschools.net/


Ten Parkway Students Named to Missouri Scholars Academy

Ten Parkway sophomores have been named to the 2009 Missouri Scholars Academy (MSA).  The academy is a three-week residential program held on the campus of the University of Missouri-Columbia for 330 of Missouri's gifted students who are ready to begin their junior year in high school.  Schools from throughout Missouri were invited to nominate candidates for this state-wide recognition.

Parkway’s winners are: Linda Du and Anisha Gururaj of Central High; Remi Balogun, Chris Camie and Nathan Emmons from North High; Jennifer Mahan, Brian Peng and Michael Zhao from South High; and West High students Megan Arnell and Hope Bretscher.

A special selection committee appointed by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE) screens and evaluates nominations.  Participants are selected on the basis of the following criteria and factors:

- Student scores from selected individual intelligence and aptitude tests
- Grade point average
- Student essays
- Evidence of leadership, creativity, intellectual curiosity, problem-solving ability and initiative
- Projected benefits to the student for participating in the Academy
- Commitment to remain at the Academy throughout the entire three-week experience

By the end of the 2009 academy, more than 8,000 Missouri high school students and teachers will have participated in MSA since its inception in 1985.