Our website has moved. Please visit our new website at http://www.parkwayschools.net/


Five Parkway High School Seniors Selected for State Academic Honor

Five Parkway high school seniors have been selected for the 2006 Missouri Scholars 100, a statewide program that honors 100 of Missouris top academic students in the graduating class of 2006. Students will be recognized at a luncheon at the Holiday Inn Executive Center in Columbia Mo., on Sunday, April 30, 2006. The students being honored are: Adam Hoffman of North High, Nalin Katta and Anne Allhoff of West High and Luyi Zhao and Jane Zhang of South High. Missouri Scholars 100 is a program sponsored by the Missouri Association of Secondary School Principals. Schools across Missouri were invited to nominate candidates for this statewide recognition. The selection is based primarily on a formula using the students grade point average and ACT or SAT score. Each student nominated had to first meet criteria of an Academic Decathlon, which included ten events designed to assure the academic strength of the student. To meet the decathlon requirements, the student must have a minimum GPA of 3.750, a minimum ACT score of 29 or a minimum SAT score of 1900, be ranked in the upper ten percent of the class, and have taken upper level courses in mathematics, science, English and foreign language. The student must also have excellent attendance, be an exemplary school citizen, and be involved in the school activity program. Jim L. King, Executive Director of the principals association, said, Students who are selected to this program have taken a rigorous course of study and have maintained the highest academic standards. The Missouri Association of Secondary School Principals wants to celebrate the achievement and success of these students and their schools.