Our website has moved. Please visit our new website at http://www.parkwayschools.net/


Four Parkway students named National Merit Scholarship winners

Four Parkway students will receive National Merit Scholarships financed by colleges and universities. The students are:

Central High
Alexander Maslev
University of Southern California
Probable career field: Industrial/Systems Engineering

North High
Christopher Camie
Truman State University
Probable career field: Politics

Andrew Socha
Southern Methodist University
Probable career field: Computer Science

West High
Megan Arnell
Brigham Young University
Probable career field: Computer Science

Officials of each college selected their scholarship winners from among finalists in the 2011 National Merit Scholarship Program who plan to attend their institution. These awards provide between $500 and $2,000 annually for up to four years of undergraduate study at the institution financing the scholarship.

More than 1.5 million juniors in some 22,000 high schools entered the National Merit Scholarship competition when they took the preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test, which served as an initial screen of program entrants. Last fall, some 16,000 semifinalists were named on a state representational basis, in numbers proportional to each state’s percentage of the nation’s high school graduating seniors. Semifinalists were the highest scoring program entrants in each state and represented less than one percent of a state’s seniors

To compete for Merit Scholarship awards, semifinalists had to advance to the finalist level of the competition by fulfilling additional requirements. Each semifinalist submitted a scholarship application that included an outstanding academic record; being endorsed and recommended by a school official; and earning SAT scores that confirmed the qualifying test performance. The semifinalist also wrote an essay and provided information about extracurricular activities, awards, and leadership positions. More than 15,000 semifinalists met requirements for finalist standing, and more than half of this group will be Merit Scholarship winners in 2011.