Our website has moved. Please visit our new website at http://www.parkwayschools.net/


Eleven Parkway students named to Missouri Scholars Academy

Eleven Parkway sophomores have been named to the 2011 Missouri Scholars Academy (MSA).

The academy is a three-week residential program held on the campus of the University of Missouri-Columbia for 330 of Missouri's gifted students who are ready to begin their junior year in high school.  Schools from throughout Missouri were invited to nominate candidates for this statewide recognition.

Parkway’s winners included Hannah Wiedner and Joy Yang from Central High; Christian Alten, Kendra Rowey, Ben Weinstock and Christina Wesley from North High;  Leela Chapman, Alicia Coronado and Christina Sittser from South High; and Elizabeth Carroll and Jaron Ma from West High.

A special selection committee appointed by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE) screens and evaluates nominations.  Participants are selected on the basis of the following criteria and factors: 

  • Student scores from selected individual intelligence and aptitude tests. 
  •  Grade point average.
  • Student essays. 
  • Evidence of leadership, creativity, intellectual curiosity, problem-solving ability and initiative.
  • Projected benefits to the student for participating in the Academy. 
  • Commitment to remain at the Academy throughout the entire three-week experience. 

By the end of the 2011 Academy, more than 8,000 Missouri high school students and teachers will have participated in MSA since its inception in 1985. More information can be found at http://www.moscholars.org/