Parkway e-News Story

Ten Students from Parkway Named to Missouri Scholars Academy

Ten Parkway sophomores have been named to the 2009 Missouri Scholars Academy (MSA). The academy is a three-week residential program held on the campus of the University of Missouri-Columbia for 330 of Missouri's gifted students who are ready to begin their junior year in high school. Schools from throughout Missouri were invited to nominate candidates for this state-wide recognition.

Parkway’s winners are: Linda Du and Anisha Gururaj of Central High; Remi Balogun, Chris Camie and Nathan Emmons from North High; Jennifer Mahan, Brian Peng and Michael Zhao from South High; and West High students Megan Arnell and Hope Bretscher.

A special selection committee appointed by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE) screens and evaluates nominations. Participants are selected on the basis of the following criteria and factors:

-Student scores from selected individual intelligence and aptitude tests
-Grade point average
-Student essays
-Evidence of leadership, creativity, intellectual curiosity, problem-solving ability and initiative
-Projected benefits to the student for participating in the Academy
-Commitment to remain at the Academy throughout the entire three-week experience 

By the end of the 2009 academy, more than 8,000 Missouri high school students and teachers will have participated in MSA since its inception in 1985.