Parkway e-News Story

Aspiring Scientists

After six weeks of conducting research on everything from biofuels to seed viability and even bumblebees, 14 Parkway high school students have graduated from the 2014 Students and Teachers as Research Scientists (STARS) program from the University of Missouri–St. Louis.

The Parkway students for the 2014 STARS program were:

Central High: Gajan Kumar, Amudha Porchezhian, Danielle Serota, Jinghang Zhang
North High: Amanda Crawford, Phillip Kheyfets, Eesha Sabherwal
South High: William Chen, Andrew Dong, Kevin Zheng
West High: Saqib Hassan, Zohair Siddiqui, Clara Sun, William Tong
The program for academically talented rising junior- and senior-level high school students drew mainly from schools in the St. Louis metro area, but also included teenagers from Pennsylvania, Arizona and Illinois. This was the program’s 26th summer session.
STARS students were paired with top research mentors from the Donald Danforth Plant Science Center, Saint Louis University, Washington University in St. Louis, Confluence Discovery Technologies and the host institution, UMSL.
“STARS is yet another example of the university doing its part to promote STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Math) for future scientists from the region and beyond,” UMSL Chancellor Tom George said.   
Experts from the five institutions accepted student apprentices in laboratories and directed students in research projects. Also, students attended lectures by nationally known scientists from the St. Louis science community, learned information concerning the higher education admission process and enjoyed social events on and off campus.
The main focus of the intensive six-week summer research program is to ready students to prepare and present a research paper.
STARS is sponsored by LMI Aerospace/D3 Technologies, the Office of the Chancellor at UMSL, SLU, WUSTL, St. Louis Symphony, DuPont Nutrition and Health, Monsanto, Academy of Science of St. Louis, Easter Seals Midwest., St. Louis Children’s Hospital, University of Missouri–Kansas City and John Burroughs School.