Parkway e-News Story

Parkway Teachers Win Emerson Award

Two Parkway teachers -- Sam Skibbe from Craig Elementary and James Craven, a Special School District teacher at Sorrento Springs Elementary -- received one of the most recent Emerson awards for teaching.

The Emerson Excellence in Teaching Awards program, sponsored by Emerson, annually recognizes more than 100 educators in the St. Louis metropolitan area – from kindergarten teachers to college professors – who are examples of excellence in their field.

Recipients are selected by the chief administrators of their school districts or educational institutions. The employing educational institution must be located in the St. Louis metropolitan area, which includes Franklin County, Jefferson County, St. Charles County, St. Louis City and St. Louis County in Missouri and Jersey County, Madison County, Monroe County and St. Clair County in Illinois.

Skibbe was also named Parkway's Teacher of the Year the 2012-13 school year.

Sam Skibbe, Craig Elementary










James Craven (left), Special School District, Sorrento Springs Elementary