Parkway e-News Story

New Principals & Administrators for 2011-12 Announced

New principals at Bellerive, Shenandoah Valley, Barretts and Ross Elementary schools as well as Central High have been announced. In addition, a new director of human resources has also been recommended to the board. Congratulations and welcome to the following individuals on their new positions effective July 1, 2011.

Elementary Principals

Mrs. Jami DeBosch has been named interim principal of Bellerive Elementary School. She replaces Debbie McMillan who retires at the end of the 2010-11 school year. DeBosch began her teaching career as a first-grade teacher at Parkway’s Henry Elementary in 2002.  Most recently she has served as the administrative intern at Bellerive Elementary since 2007. She is expected to finish her doctorate from Maryville University in December 2012. 

Dr. Carrie Luttrell has been selected as the new principal of Shenandoah Valley Elementary School. She replaces Bruce Hunter who retires after 31 years in Parkway. Luttrell began her teaching career as an elementary classroom teacher in Chilhowee R-IV and Knob Noster R-VIII school districts. After 14 years as a classroom teacher, she assumed the position of coordinator of curriculum and assessment in Knob Noster. Dr. Luttrell then moved to the Fort Osage R-I School District and served as director of curriculum and assessment. Most recently Dr. Luttrell has served as the executive director of curriculum, instruction and assessment in the Rockwood School District.

Dr. Kelli Moreton will be the new principal of Barretts Elementary School. Moreton began her teaching career as an elementary classroom teacher in the Rockwood School District. She then taught fourth grade in Petaluma, Calif., before moving back to Rockwood to continue as an elementary teacher. She joined Parkway as the assistant principal of Oak Brook Elementary School. Most recently Dr. Moreton has served as the principal of Valley Park Elementary in the Valley Park School District. 

Dr. Lisa Luna Schwarz has been selected as the new principal of Ross Elementary School. She replaces Lisa Greenstein who has accepted a principalship in the Kirkwood School District. Luna Schwarz began her teaching career in the Francis Howell School District as an elementary and middle school teacher. She then served the Kirkwood School District as a literacy coach and reading teacher. She moved to the Parkway School District as a middle school intern/assistant principal, K-12 communication arts coordinator and Title I director. Most recently Dr. Luna Schwarz has served as the principal of Remington Traditional School in the Pattonville School District. 

Central High Principal

Tim McCarthy has been selected as the new principal of Parkway Central High School. McCarthy has nearly 16 years of experience in public education, both as a teacher and high school administrator. For the past 11 years, McCarthy has served Parkway West High School as a social studies teacher, administrative intern and assistant principal. He began his career in 1996 as a social studies teacher at St. John Vianney High School in Kirkwood. McCarthy has a bachelor’s degree in history and a master’s degree in educational administration from the University of Missouri-St. Louis. McCarthy replaces Tim Gannon, who is retiring .

Director of Human Resources

Dr. Joy Torgerson has been recommended to the Parkway Board of Education as the new director of human resources. Torgerson began her career as an elementary classroom teacher in the North Kansas City School District. She later served for 13 years as an elementary and intermediate principal in the school districts of Kearney and Shawnee Mission (Kansas). For the past 10 years, Torgerson has served Shawnee Mission as the district classified personnel administrator and human resources manager.

Torgerson holds bachelor’s and master’s degrees in education, and an education specialist’s degree, all from Northwest Missouri State University. She also holds a doctorate in education from the University of Kansas. She replaces Connie Paul, who has been serving as interim director of human resources since December 2010.