Parkway e-News Story

Student Awards Abound...36 Earn State and National Recognitions

(Click on underlined titles for more information)

Missouri Citizenship Award
Alison Levens from Central High and Jacob Lyonfields of West High were among 15 public high school students recently honored by the State Board of Education as recipients of the 2010 Outstanding Achievement in Citizenship Award. The award was established by the Missouri Legislature in 1989 and first given in 1990. With assistance and financial support from The Missouri Bar, the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education presents the award annually.

Missouri Scholars Academy
Eleven Parkway sophomores have been named to the 2010 Missouri Scholars Academy. The academy is a three-week residential program held on the campus of the University of Missouri-Columbia for 330 of Missouri’s gifted students who are ready to begin their junior year in high school. Schools from throughout Missouri were invited to nominate candidates for the statewide recognition.

Parkway’s winners include: Ahmed Eltahir, Shawn He and Katie Ihnat from Central High; Manali Gokhale, Paa Imbeah, and Timothy Tai from North High; Emily Cheng and John Lin from South High; and Andrew Kuehnle, Mariana Montero, and James Wang from West High.

Missouri Scholars 100
Seven Parkway students have been named to the Missouri Scholars 100, a statewide program that honors 100 of Missouri’s top academic students in the graduating class of 2010.

The Parkway students are: Joy He from Central High; Nada Ali and Elizabeth Carr from North High; Paula Vaught and Diane Shen from South High; and Regina Stroncek and Rajiv Tarigopula, West High.

National Lexus Eco Challenge
Five students from North High, led by science teacher Russell Barton, were one of eight first-place teams in the national finals of the Lexus Eco Challenge competition, an educational program that inspires students to learn about the environment and take action to improve it. This year’s winners emerged from the 265 registered teams representing 1,775 middle and high school students nationwide.

Team N.E.O.N. students include: David Goldfeld; Calvin Irwin; Jenny Koshner; Simon Nogin; and Ben Weinstock.

National Merit Scholarship and Achievement Award Winners
Parkway winners of the 2010 National Merit corporate-sponsored scholarships and their corporate sponsors are: Central High - Sean P. Cahill, Boeing Company; North High - Kevin R. Cochran, Boeing Company; West High - Lisa Xia, Pfizer Inc., Samuel Y. Lee, Eaton Charitable Fund.

Jennifer M. Wesley, of North High, received a National Merit Achievement Scholarship. The National Achievement Scholarship Program is a privately financed academic competition established in 1964 specifically to honor scholastically talented black American youth, and to provide scholarships to a substantial number of the most outstanding participants each year.

National Scholastic Gold Medal
South High senior Jamie Miller has been awarded a National Scholastic Gold Medal for her humorous work "The Annotated Puss in Boots" and will be honored at the Scholastic Awards Ceremony June 9-10 in New York City.

Over 165,000 works were submitted this year, and Miller’s work is one of 500 awarded a Gold Medal. The Scholastic Art and Writing Awards is a national program that identifies, develops, and recognizes student achievement.

Navy Reserve Officer Training Corps Scholarship
Shawn Smith of North High earned a $180,000 Navy Reserve Officer Training Corps scholarship to be used at the college of her choice over four years. Shawn was one of three selected from 600 applicants in a 12-state region for this award from the U.S. Marine Corps.  The award recognizes superior scholarship and a strong moral foundation. Shawn plans to attend the University of  Kansas.

Perfect ACT Score
Meghan Scanlon, from South High, scored a 36 -- the highest possible score -- on the ACT college admissions and placement exam. Nationally, while the actual number of students earning a composite score of 36 varies from year to year, roughly only one-tenth of one percent receive a top score.

Presidential Scholar
Joy He, of Central High, has been selected as one of two 2010 U.S. Presidential Scholars from Missouri. The program was established in 1964 to recognize and honor some of our nation's most distinguished graduating high school seniors. Each year, up to 141 students are named as Presidential Scholars, one of the nation's highest honors for high school students.

Telluride Association Summer Program
Jennifer Mahan, a junior at South High, has been selected to attend the six-week Telluride Association Summer Program (TASP) at the University of Texas-Austin. TASP is one of the most successful and prestigious academic summer programs in the nation. The more than 2,500 living TASP alumni include leaders in politics, journalism, academia, the sciences, education, medicine, business, and the arts. Jennifer will study the topic, "Changing Minds, Winning Peace: Cultural and Public Diplomacy in Today’s World."

Young Epidemiology Scholar
Jacob Lyonfields, a senior at West High, has been working with Washington University professors conducting epidemiology research and examining data on the topic, "Racial Disparities in Survival of Head and Neck Cancer Patients: Evaluation of the SEER-Medicare Database." Jacob was the only Missouri student of 48 regional finalists from across the U.S. selected to present his research findings in Washington, D.C. at the Young Epidemiology Scholars (YES) competition, sponsored by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation.