Parkway e-News Story

Eight to Receive Pillar of Parkway Awards

Parkway has announced eight recipients of the 2010 “Pillar of Parkway” Award! This prestigious award is presented to individuals who have provided extraordinary service to the Parkway community and go beyond what is expected. Congratulations to the following parent volunteers and staff members.

Raoul Campa, 5th grade teacher, Oak Brook Elementary
Ann Hansen, 3rd grade teacher, Barretts Elementary (pictured right)
Lisa Harnacker, manager of health services (pictured above left)
Nan Johnson, parent/volunteer, West area (pictured below left)
Cindy Knight, teacher's assistant, McKelvey Elementary
Dr. Jenny Marquart, principal, North High
Peggy O'Malley-Dean, GOLD Star Partnership Program coordinator, Special School District (pictured below right)
Mary Thompkins, parent/volunteer, West High

The Pillars will be recognized on Monday, April 26, at Parkway's Appreciation Evening, along with Parkway’s Teachers of the Year and other district honorees.

The Pillar Selection Committee members, all previous Pillar winners, are: co-chairs Jenny Hosch, volunteer; and Bruce Hunter, principal of Shenandoah Valley Elementary; Pam Dudley, Southwest Middle teacher; Kristi Garcia, volunteer; Sue Hockensmith, volunteer; Doug Hoover, Central High band director; Carole Lander, counselor at Claymont; Bart Prosser, North High teacher; Tracey Ratchford, teaching assistant at Craig Elementary and Sharon Stover, human resources.