Parkway e-News Story

70 Parkway Students Earn National Merit Recognition

Twenty-six Parkway students recently qualified as 2009 National Merit Semifinalists and 44 earned Commended status.***** Some 16,000 students – 319 in Missouri – representing less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors, have qualified as National Merit Semifinalists. While Parkway students comprise less than two percent of total Missouri school enrollment, they represent nearly 9 percent of Missouri’s National Merit Semifinalists. Parkway’s National Merit Semifinalists are:

Central High: Anna H. Dardick, Kevin Guo, Will N. Hack, Jeffrey Huang, Erin S. Li, Jason Q. Liang, Elliot M. Liebman, Thomas A. Morrell, William J. Sun, Jonathan E. Taterka, Zhimeng Yang
North High: Rebecca Corman, Brad G. Donaldson, Courtney E. Gray, Jack B. Regenbogen, Abigail L. Scribner
South High: Lauren A.Gajdosik, Laura K. Maguire, Firas A. Naji, Sarah G. Wilson, Xiaoran Xu, Doreen Y. Zhang
West High: Laura J. Bonner, Andrew C. Davidson, Peter E. Holly, Alaina J. Radnov

Semifinalists have an opportunity to continue in the program to further qualify for nearly 8,200 merit scholarship awards, worth $35 million, that will be offered next spring. To be considered for a merit scholarship award, semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the finalist level of the competition. About 90 percent of the semifinalists are expected to attain finalist standing, and approximately half of the finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar title.

For names of all students who are Commended, go to http://www.pkwy.k12.mo.us/news/story.cfm?ID=52365414%2D1CC4%2DEACA%2DCEBE52A12ED8E0C1.