Parkway e-News Story

Henry and Mason Ridge Among Eight Blue Ribbon Schools in Missouri

U.S. Department of Education announced this week that TWO Parkway schools - Henry Elementary and Mason Ridge Elementary - are 2014 National Blue Ribbon Schools! Parkway now has 15 Blue Ribbon Schools.

Governor Jay Nixon visited Henry Elementary on Thursday to congratulate the school and its children on the honor. He hopes to visit Mason Ridge later this year. Eight schools in Missouri earned the recognition; six of them are in the St. Louis area.

St. Louis area 2014 Blue Ribbon Schools:

Henry Elementary – Parkway
Mason Ridge Elementary – Parkway
North Glendale Elementary – Kirkwood
Concord Elementary – Lindbergh
Long Elementary – Lindbergh
Festus Elementary – Festus

337 schools across the country – both public and private – were recognized as National Blue Ribbon Schools for 2014 based on their overall academic excellence or their progress in closing achievement gaps among student subgroups. These schools demonstrate that all students can achieve to high levels.

The Department will honor these schools at a recognition ceremony on Nov. 10-11 in Washington, D.C. In its 32-year history, the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program has bestowed this coveted award on just under 7,900 of America’s schools.

“These great schools are fulfilling the promise of American education—that all students, no matter their name or zip code, can flourish when schools provide safe, creative, and challenging learning environments,” Secretary Duncan said. “National Blue Ribbon Schools are models of consistent excellence and a resource for other schools and districts. We celebrate them for their tireless effort and boundless creativity in reaching and teaching every student.”

Pictured above: students cheer as they hear that Henry Elementary has been named a Blue Ribbon School