Parkway e-News Story

Parkway Recognizes 58 National Merit & Achievement Students

On November 14, the Board of Education honored 58 Parkway students as National Merit Semifinalists, National Merit Commended Students and National Achievement Semifinalists. About 1.5 million juniors in more than 22,000 high schools entered the National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test, which served as an initial screen of program entrants. 

National Merit Semifinalists - The nationwide pool of Semifinalists, representing less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors, includes the highest-scoring entrants in each state. The 28 Parkway Semifinalists are:

Central High         Jonathan H. Brand, Henry D. Chen, Tommy H. Du, Victor Ge, Tracy Y. Tang, Louis S. Wang, Hannah J. Wiedner, Joy L. Yang, Rebecca M. Zhang
North High Miranda L. Siler
South High            Leela A. Chapman, Ruixue Cheng, Alicia N. Coronado, Katherine Y. Li, Joyce C. Lin,  Edward J. Lu, Thomas A. Meisel, Christina L. Sittser, Asha R. Thanki, Mindy Xu, Satya Pavan K.Yalla
West High Elizabeth L. Carroll, Andrew George, Kevin F. Koboldt, Jaron X. Ma, Ann Ni, Andrew Smith, Joanne O. Yu

National Merit Commended Students - Commended students placed among the top five percent of more than 1.5 million students who entered the competition. The 26 Parkway Commended students are:

Central High  Lea Cody, Hadley Bjerke, Sean Byrne, Joseph Gao, Alyssa Guller, Margaret Madsen, April Xu
North High Christian Alten, Shannon Cheng, Brian Hagerty, Benjamin Weinstock  
South High  Yingjie Fu, Bradley R Gleason, John P Heider, Isha Pathak, Juliana E Varner
West High             Katherine Arnell, Raveena Boodram, Timothy Hu, Nicholas John, Chan-Hyung Ki, Humza Mian, Emma Stewart, Shalini Subbarao, Kerry Xiao, Tatsumi Yanaba

National Achievement Scholarship Semifinalists - Achievement Scholarship Semifinalists are among 1,600 black American high school seniors who will compete for Achievement scholarship awards totaling more than $2.5 million. The Parkway Semifinalists in the National Achievement Scholarship program are:

Central High

Deanna Patelis

North High Kendra Rowey, Andrew Stock, Christina Wesley



Photos below include students who were able to attend the November 28 board of education recognition:

Central High Principal Tim McCarthy (left) with student honorees
North High Principal Dr. Jenny Marquart (right) with student honorees
South High Principal Dr. Patrice Aitch (right) with student honorees
West High Principal Dr. Jeremy Mitchell (right) with student honorees