More News


  • October 03
    No School K-12, Professional Dev. Day
  • October 04
    West High Craft Fair, 10 a.m.-4 p.m.
  • October 15
    Board of Education Meeting, 7:30 p.m., Central Middle School
  • October 28
    All-District Secondary Vocal Concert, 7:30 p.m., Touhill Performing Arts Center
  • October 29
    Board of Education Meeting, 7:30 p.m., Central Middle School
eNews Archive

455 N. Woods Mill Rd.
Chesterfield, MO 63017
Phone (314) 415-8100

Contact Parkway

October 01, 2008

Nov. Election Ballot Issues, Candidates Online

Want a sample ballot? Need to register or vote absentee? Looking for information about Parkway's zero-tax-rate-increase bond issue? Here are several Web sites that will help you prepare for the Nov. 4 elections:*****

-- for polling places, sample ballots, registration, absentee voting (Deadline to register is Oct. 8.)
-- for an explanation of statewide ballot issues from Ballotpedia, a free, collaborative, online encyclopedia
-- for Missouri Bar Association’s recommendations on retaining judges
-- for info on Prop S, Parkway’s zero-tax-rate-increase bond issue, including a video explaining what a bond issue is and how it works. Simply scroll down to the blue square and click on the triangle in the lower left corner to play the video.

Parkway Students Win Half of Missouri Writing Awards

Five Parkway students garnered half of the 10 awards given in the state of Missouri for Achievement in Writing by the National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE). Students receiving the awards are:***** Anna Dardick and William Sun of Central High; and Thea Emmons, Victoria Ngo-Lam, and Abby Scribner of North High. 

These students were among 525 high school seniors chosen from across the United States, the District of Columbia, Canada, the Virgin Islands and American schools abroad. The award program was established in 1957 to encourage high school students in their writing and to recognize publicly some of the best student writers in the nation. For more details, visit the NCTE Web site at:

- Read More-

Parkway Professionals Earn Prestigious Awards

Dot Kontak, who has served Parkway for more than 17 years as a district social worker, was named 2008 Missouri School Social Worker of the Year and John Jauss, South High science teacher, recently received the Pfizer Outstanding Research award.*****

Kontak, who has her master's degree in social work and is a licensed clinical social worker, was also honored with the School Social Work Lifetime Career Achievement Award by the School Social Workers Association of Missouri. This is a very select award to honor those who go beyond the norm to help others, support their schools, empower students and promote school social work on the local, state and national levels.

John Jauss, science teacher at South High, is the first teacher fellow ever to be selected for the Pfizer Outstanding Research award. The award was given to the top 10 research interns out of over 70 research assistants at Pfizer Pharmaceutical this summer. Researchers were required to present their findings at a two-hour question and answer poster session. Jauss’ paper was titled, “Correlation of Concentration Determinations of IgG1 and IgG2 Antibodies between UV Spectroscopy and CFCA Utilizing SPR.”

- Read More-

70 Parkway Students Earn National Merit Recognition

Twenty-six Parkway students recently qualified as 2009 National Merit Semifinalists and 44 earned Commended status.***** Some 16,000 students – 319 in Missouri – representing less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors, have qualified as National Merit Semifinalists. While Parkway students comprise less than two percent of total Missouri school enrollment, they represent nearly 9 percent of Missouri’s National Merit Semifinalists. Parkway’s National Merit Semifinalists are:

Central High: Anna H. Dardick, Kevin Guo, Will N. Hack, Jeffrey Huang, Erin S. Li, Jason Q. Liang, Elliot M. Liebman, Thomas A. Morrell, William J. Sun, Jonathan E. Taterka, Zhimeng Yang
North High: Rebecca Corman, Brad G. Donaldson, Courtney E. Gray, Jack B. Regenbogen, Abigail L. Scribner
South High: Lauren A.Gajdosik, Laura K. Maguire, Firas A. Naji, Sarah G. Wilson, Xiaoran Xu, Doreen Y. Zhang
West High: Laura J. Bonner, Andrew C. Davidson, Peter E. Holly, Alaina J. Radnov

Semifinalists have an opportunity to continue in the program to further qualify for nearly 8,200 merit scholarship awards, worth $35 million, that will be offered next spring. To be considered for a merit scholarship award, semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the finalist level of the competition. About 90 percent of the semifinalists are expected to attain finalist standing, and approximately half of the finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar title.

For names of all students who are Commended, go to

- Read More-

Follow Us
About Us - Curriculum - Schools - Parents - Programs/Services - Employment - Parkway Home
Terms of Use - Privacy - RSS